Sunday January 17, 2010

Hello everyone!  Hope you all had a great week.

I was just looking at my pictures from this week to recap what I had done and I must say that I am proud of myself because I have two outdoor pictures.  The weather has been beautiful and so why not take advantage of it by getting outside to attempt to get some nice winter shots, only thing is you need snow for nice winter shots and we have NONE!  Believe me I’m not complaining.

On Monday I played around with my husbands guitars, taking pictures of them was so much fun and there were many that turned out so well that I decided to share the best ones on Flickr, they are in the “sets” marked guitars.  Mondays photo, which is also the one above was my favourite photo this week.

Tuesdays picture is of a charming little church in the downtown core of the city I live in.  There were some harsh shadows, I’m still not sure if I like them or not, I have had mixed reviews on this.

Wednesdays image  was of the sky.  My photography teacher asked me what motivated me to take this picture, for this particular image I really just wanted  to try out my polarized lens filter, but by his asking me this question it reminded me to pay attention to details that motivate me take a picture of something, why do I like it or why it caught my eye.  I definitely liked the effect of the polarized lens  and will try to find more opportunities to use it.

Thursday was of my cat’s eye.  I love cats eyes, what can I say?!  Not really much to say about this one because it’s just a cat’s eye.  I did however use some post processing to punch it some.  Maxed out the definition and sharpness scales so you can see each and every hair around her eye, I think it made the image look very edgy almost like the hairs could cut you like her claws or her teeth.

Friday, this was funny because I had nothing and no ideas for anything.  I was baking goat cheese with bruschetta on top and so when it came out of the oven I staged it up with some crackers and olive oil bottles behind it (although you can see them in the image) and started snapping away.  Just incase you’re wondering it was delicious!  If you’re interested in this recipe let me know and I’ll get it to you!

And finally Saturday…It was a busy day because we had a little birthday party for my six-year-old, there were 7 kids in my house and it was awesome!  Again I had no real direction for photos and so my very supportive husband suggested taking pictures of my makeup brushes.  It was fairly easy to set up, unfortunately not the easiest to do or maybe I just didn’t have enough time to really think about it and plan it out in my head what I expected.

Lessons learned this week… become aware of what and why something catches my eye and make note of it, and give myself a few minutes before taking a shot to plan out in my head what I want it to look like and then try to create it.

Thanks for reading.

Happy snapping till next Sunday…

~Linda

One thought on “Sunday January 17, 2010

  1. awesome thoughts! and the beauty of digital is that you can try and try nd try to get that shot right! can you imagine doing this with FILM???

Leave a Reply

