Sunday April 18, 2010

Oliver

Oliver

Hey y’all!

It’s been a quiet week picture wise, my assignment for this past week was pets.  Luckily I am blessed with 3 beautiful animals, 2 cats and a dog.  Unfortunately every time I try to take a picture of my dog she turns her head, she definitely does not like her picture taken.  The cats on the other hand will totally pose for me, especially the white one.

Molly is my brown tabby, she is such a sweet girl but she doesn’t like people much.  I’ve had her for 4 years and still I have to let her smell my hand before she’ll let me pet her, she also won’t let you pet her unless you’re sitting down, weirdo!  I got her 4 years ago, 9 days after my other cat Molson (big fat orange tabby) died.  I went to the humane society to get her, a long time ago I dropped off a cat there that I couldn’t care for and always felt guilty, ironically enough that cat too was a brown tabby, this was my way to make it right.

Oliver is a pure bred Ragdoll, he is absolutely lovely.  I’m pretty sure we’re done having cats but if I ever had to have another cat in my lifetime it would without a doubt be another Ragdoll.  They are not like any other cat you’ve ever had before.  Oliver loves his picture taken, he always poses for me.  Why I love taking pictures of him is because his eyes come out so blue in the pictures, although his eyes are blue they are a very light blue and in the pictures they always come out deep blue.  I bought Oliver from a private breeder in Fergus a couple of weeks after I got Molly, he was a little white puff-ball and over the course of a year his colours developed.  All of my animals turn 5 this year.

Ginger wouldn’t tolerate me taking any pictures of her this week so that is why there is none of her, but there are a couple of Molly and a couple of Oliver.  Friday is my day with my husband, it’s my most favourite day of the week, we drop the kids off at school and have the day alone together.  This past Friday we went to Decew Falls again, but this time it was to climb to the bottom of the falls.  It is so beautiful down there, I can’t wait to go back in a few weeks when all the leaves are out on the trees, hopefully the sun will be out also.  Today’s picture is a Canadian flag Geo-coin.  We planted our first geocache this morning and this trackable coin is what we put inside of it.  When someone finds it they will take the coin and log that they found it and then they will place it in another cache so someone else can find it, it will hopefully move from cache to cache all over the world.

The picture above is the one from yesterday, it is by far the best one this week.  I am actually thinking about printing and framing this one.  Not only is it the best picture I have ever taken of him but I think it’s definitely in the top 5 best pictures I have taken (not that I’m tooting my own horn or anything!!).

Hope you all have a wonderful week and enjoy the beautiful spring we are having.  My in-laws are coming to visit later in the week and we are all excited to see them as we don’t get to see them very often.

Happy snapping…

~Linda

Leave a Reply

