Sunday May 2, 2010

Another month gone.  I can’t believe how fast this year is going.  Kids will be out of school next month, my oldest will be graduating grade 6 and getting ready to go to middle school in September.  He just turned 12 this past Thursday, time is definitely flying.  It seems like it was just yesterday he was born and already he’ll be a teenager next year, I don’t even feel old enough to have a 12-year-old, mostly because some days I still feel like I am 12!!  Oh well, such is life!

On to photography…

This week was rather random.  I didn’t have time to read ahead in my text-book to find out what assignment was next so I just took pictures this week of whatever.  Monday was a cute little flower I found in my backyard, I wasn’t sure what it was but my friends all said it was periwinkle, so periwinkle is what it must be.  Then we had some big fluffy clouds in the sky, it really was a beautiful scene and I couldn’t help myself but to grab my camera and dart outside to take advantage of it, it’s quite lovely I think.  Then we had the full moon.  Every time I have tried to get a picture of the full moon it is always blown out and blurry, but not this time.  My friend told me what I needed to do in order for it to turn out this way, so I’m sending a very big *Thanks* to her for that.  Then there is my husband, a.k.a. the love of my life!  We were sitting outside enjoying the afternoon sun and since I knew I needed to get a picture I chose to make him my guinea pig.  He detests having his picture taken almost as much as me but he was really being a good sport about it.  I think this picture is absolutely adorable, but I may be a tad biased.  On Saturday we were out in the forest with the boys and there were Trilliums galore.  Kids kept asking if we can pick some and take them home…to which we answered “would you like to get arrested??”  We had to explain to them that the Trillium being out provincial flower makes it illegal for us to pick especially since we were at a conservation area where they are protected, we were very careful though not to step on any while we were admiring them.  The above picture is of the daffodils that are growing in my garden.  Flowers are always the back-up plan when I don’t know what else to photograph, at least I feel like I’m making progress because when I started this project flowers were always the first thing I would go to and now I turn to flowers when I can’t find anything else…this is good!!!

As I said this week was very random, hopefully I’ll get a chance to read the next chapter of my book and get back on track.  I really like using the text-book, it gives me a direction.  It’s too overwhelming to just go at it everyday without having a clue what to take a picture of.  Unfortunately there are only 22 chapters in this book.  Not sure what I’ll do when I’m done it, maybe find another one like it, guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it!

Have a wonderful week

~Linda

One thought on “Sunday May 2, 2010

  1. There is no law saying you can’t pick trilliums – that’s an urban myth, but you can’t pick flowers of any kind in conservation areas – so you were still right.

Leave a Reply

