Sunday May 9, 2010

Flowers my little man made for Mother's Day

Happy Mother’s Day!!  My boys woke me up this morning with breakfast in bed, homemade cards and construction paper flowers (see above picture).  Over the last 8 years of my children being in school I have thoroughly enjoyed all the mother’s day gifts that they have made for me.  I’ve had tissue paper flowers, clay candy dishes, pins made from puzzle pieces, painted flower pots with their finger prints on them and a plethora of homemade cards, all of which I keep safely tucked away.  Mother’s Day usually brings tears of joy for me as I have always wanted to be a mother and I am truly grateful that even on days where they drive me up the wall I’ve still been lucky enough to experience it.  I was never really concerned about a career outside the home, since I was about 14 all I ever wanted was to get married and have lots of babies, both of which I have successfully accomplished.  This is also a day for me to reflect on how much my mother means to me, how proud I am of her.  She has been through things that any human being should never have to go through.  At a time in life when things looked bleak she found the strength from within herself to take her girls and find a better life, because of that she is a hero to me.  It would have been easy for her to give up, but she didn’t, she landed a good job, bought and furnished a house all on her own.  Mother’s are special, and everyone one of them is different but one thing is the same throughout all the mothers in all the world and that is that they love their children and they sacrifice a great deal for them.  I hope you all have a wonderful day with your family as I will definitely be having a wonderful day with mine.

Pictures this week…

The assignment for this past week was less than desirable for me.  It was portraits…taken with a flash.  First of all I don’t like using a flash if I can help it at all.  I never use my on-board flash, I have a separate flash that goes on my hot shoe but I still only like to use it when I absolutely have to.  I prefer to use natural light as much as possible.  Maybe when I have more money to spend on photography gadgets I’ll buy a flash that I can have off to the side of the camera.  Instead, I took advantage of the blooming trees in my neighbourhood, the lilacs and the blossoms…everything smells so good.  The little boy against the tree is my youngest little man, he was feeling lonely after school one day after all his brothers went for bike rides with their friends and he had no one to play with, so I did the only thing that made sense…I grabbed my camera and took advantage of his misfortunes and I’m glad I did because this picture is so cute and it totally captured how he was feeling.  I had purchased some wild flowers and they were wilted pretty bad, my husband put me to the challenge of finding the beauty (if any) left in the dead flowers.  I did the best I could with what I had to work with, I wouldn’t necessarily call it beautiful but I did like the way the left side of the flower was lit up as if to represent the bit of life left in it before it was thrown away to die completely.

The next three chapters of my book will focus on post processing.  This is my favourite part.  I like to take an ordinary picture of nothing really spectacular and turning it into something fantastic and then show the before and after.  I am really looking forward to seeing where this takes me.

Happy Snapping!!!

~ Linda

Leave a Reply

