Sunday June 20, 2010

Father and Son

Happy Father’s Day!!  I hope all the wonderful dads out there have a beautiful day full of love and fun with their families.  The picture I have included in this blog post is of my husband and one of our sons throwing stones into the water.  I truly believe that I could not have picked a better man to father my children.  The relationship with my own father has been severed due to circumstances beyond my control and because of that Father’s Day has always brought up negative feelings for me, that is until I had children.  I am delighted that my children have the father I always wished I had.  I am forever grateful.

As you all know I have struggled with my project of “photo a day”.  Recently I have received some very encouraging words from some friends of family in addition to the wonderful support I already receive from my family .  This couldn’t have come at a better time really because I feel like I’ve had a some life breathed back into me to keep going.  Thank you to everyone who has believed in me and encouraged me through this, I don’t think I would have lasted this long without all of you.

I’m all caught up on my pictures and ready to get back to it.  I took a walk yesterday through my neighbourhood to take advantage of the beauty around me.  I walked to a local cemetery and took a picture of the trees at the entrance.  I took the same picture in the spring, refer to the blog from March 28, 2010.  I wanted to go back and take a picture of the trees in bloom.  I can not even describe the smell in there, I have no words for it; it’s something you have to experience for yourself.  I wrote a caption under the picture saying “Where life and death co-exist”.   I like walking through cemeteries, they are quiet and peaceful, the smell of the trees and all the flowers, it’s a wonder how the beauty of nature can exist in a field of death.  Full of life and full of death, it doesn’t get more real than that.

The picture of Farm Produce For Sale is just down the street from me.  The people who live there I’m guessing have roughly an acre of land.  I lived on a farm for 5 years and I have no clue exactly how much an acre is.  I’m guessing it’s an acre, maybe an acre and half.  I’ll take my mom over the next time she’s down for a visit, she’ll know.  Anyway, these people grow tomatoes, rhubarb, raspberries, just to name a few and sell the produce to the locals.  A little country in the city.

I hope you all have a nice week, enjoy the weather.

Until next Sunday…

~Linda

Leave a Reply

