Sunday August 1, 2010

Sunflowers

Hi everyone, it’s Thursday and I’m only writing my blog now.

The kids are done camp, July was a fantastic month for both them and me.  The kids are home now and the days are long and very hot and therefore boredom is at its peak.  The shelves at Wal-Mart are stocked full of school supplies and it’s just a matter of time now before my all-time favourite commercial hits the television set.  Any parent who has school aged children knows what commercial I’m talking about; Staples (It’s the most wonderful time of the year)!!!  Before we know it it’ll be the first day of school, but what to do until then?

My husband called me excited on his drive home one day last week because a field of sunflowers was in full bloom, the sun was bright, the sky was blue and the side of the road was packed with people taking pictures with everything from cell phones, point and shoot cameras to full on paparazzi lenses and tripods.  I made my way out there two days later to find that a lot of the sunflowers had already wilted, I’m assuming due to the extreme temperatures we’ve been experiencing.  I did manage to get a few good shots though.

I haven’t taken any pictures yet this week, I will come up with something before the weekend.  Next week I’d like to head to my mom’s farm with the kids.  Plenty of fantastic photo opportunities not only at the farm but also on the drive up there.  Weather permitting, that will be the plan.

Hope everyone is well.

Until Sunday…

~ Linda

Leave a Reply

