Sunday August 22, 2010

Hi everyone!  First I want to say that there is only 15 days till school starts!  I’m just a little excited about this.  I think the kids have finally gotten to the point now that they are equally excited to get back to school.  As any parent would agree, 2 months is far too long.  I’m sure they will implement all year schooling the year after my youngest son graduates.

I didn’t take any pictures at all this past week.  The kids and I have been just hanging around the house, we did go to Canada’s Wonderland with friends of ours.  We spent the day and had a ton of fun.

Since I didn’t take any pictures this past week I am going to take the opportunity to talk about my other hobby; running.

I downloaded an app for my iPhone that is called Couch to 5K.  It literally takes you from being a couch potato and turns you into a running machine over a 9 week period.  You start the course with a combination of running and walking; actually more walking than running.  Gradually it increases your running time whilst decreasing your walking time.  The goal is that by the end of the 9 week course you are running 5K without any walking.  I will be doing my last run on this course tomorrow…I made it!!!  I can actually run 5K without stopping.  This is very exciting for me as I have always wanted to be a runner but I didn’t think I had it in me; turns out I do.

My friend told me about a race that takes place every December in Burlington.  It’s called Santa Jingle Bell.  It’s a 5K run with all participants wearing Santa Claus suits.  I signed up for it yesterday!!  I’m so excited!!

Although it is optional, I chose to raise money for a charity of my choice.  I chose the Sick Kids Foundation.  Thankfully I have never had to use their services, I have been blessed with very healthy children.  Some children and their families have not been so fortunate.  There has always been a very soft spot in my heart for these families and children who are faced with illnesses and who have to make the Sick Kids Hospital their home.  It absolutely breaks my heart, children should never have to face these obstacles, but unfortunately they do.  So this year when I do my very first race, I’ll be doing it for all the sick kids and their families.  I’ve set up a donation page at the SickKids Foundation website and at the Running Room website (where I signed up for the race) both under my name, where anyone and everyone can sponsor me on my first race.  I will include all the websites at the end of this blog.

This is a great cause to donate to and I’m thrilled to do it.  I’ve explained to my kids what I’m doing and I actually get teary eyed when I talk about how it feels to give, especially to something like this,  and do it purely because you want to.  So if you want to sponsor me follow the links below.  Any amount you have to give is greatly appreciated and I truly thank you.

This is the link to the Santa Jingle Bell race incase you’d like to sign up…

http://www.events.runningroom.com/site/?raceId=5128

Here is the link to my charity page through The Running Room, you can also just go to the running room website and choose “sponsor and athlete” and then type in my name, or just follow this link…if the links don’t work copy and paste it into you browser’s address bar.

https://www.giving.runningroom.com/hm/index.php?sub=3&charity=17&id=UjJWZAZrAmA=&enuserId=VDACMwRpB2AAa1Jn&item=8

Here is the link for the SickKids Foundation website where you can also sponsor me through…again you can go directly to their website and search for me there.

http://my.e2rm.com/personalPage.aspx?registrationID=936563

Hope you all have a beautiful week.

Until next Sunday (I promise to get back to pictures)…

~Linda

Leave a Reply

