Herbs

Lemon Thyme

Lemon Thyme

Happy Family Day weekend to you!!

I went to the garden centre this past week to pick up some fresh herbs.  I’ll admit that I am the worst at growing herbs indoors, I kill them every single time, but I keep trying and I always will until I learn to do it right.  So, why am I blogging about herbs?  Because I don’t think herbs get enough time in the spotlight.  Fresh herbs, when grown correctly are plentiful, and delicious!  I have always found that the store-bought “fresh herbs” are just not fresh enough for me, and they are expensive.  In my case, when I buy fresh herbs in the store in those convenient little packages, there is TOO much in one package and I end up throwing out more than half of it.  What a waste!  My advice…go to your local garden centre and pick up a few of your favourite potted herbs, learn to grow them, and then use what you need as you need it.

PIctured above is my absolute favourite herb of all time, it’s lemon thyme.  It has such a beautiful flavour.  I find with a lot of lemon flavoured “things” it usually tastes like lemon pledge…yuck!  Lemon thyme on the other hand has a subtle lemon flavour that compliments many dishes, it’s not too strong or too weak, it’s perfect!  I will make pasta for my children, add some olive oil, salt and pepper with some freshly grated parmesan cheese and a healthy sprinkling of lemon thyme and they gobble it up like it’s the greatest thing on earth.  I used it in scrambled eggs this morning with some chopped mushrooms delicious!!  NO butter or added fat needed.  Herbs really are a life saver for people who are on limited diets or are trying to just eat healthier.  Fresh herbs give all the flavour without adding sugars or fats.

If you haven’t tried lemon thyme yet, please do so, you won’t be sorry!

Until next time…

~Linda

Leave a Reply

