There is only one thing to do with ripe bananas…

Hope everyone is having a splendid weekend.

I decided yesterday that I should do something with the very ripe bananas that were sitting on my counter.  Banana muffins are always a hit in my house, no matter what is in them.  I know there is a plethora of banana muffin recipes out there, but I will say mine are the best.  I’ve seen many recipes that contain fancy flours (celiacs should, of course, use flours that are safe for consumption), butter, milks, and whatever else people can find in order to make their banana muffins better that the next persons, but I truly believe, in this case, that less is more.

The recipe that follows is for my basic banana muffin recipe.  Since I have four children, my banana muffins often contain some kind of “chip”, whether it be chocolate, butterscotch, or skor bits.  You could also put peanut butter chips in them, although I have never tried it because peanuts are poison in my house.  The picture above is the banana muffin with butterscotch chips.  As much as I love chocolate in every way, shape, and form I can get it, I prefer banana muffins with butterscotch chips in them.

Basic Banana Muffins – makes one dozen muffins

1/2 cup soft butter

3/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla

3 ripe bananas

1-1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp course kosher salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

*optional – 3/4 cup of chocolate, butterscotch, peanut butter chips, or skor bits.

Cream together the sugar and butter using a stand mixer equipped with the paddle attachment.  Add egg, and vanilla.  Add bananas to the mixture and beat on high until well blended (I don’t even mash the bananas before hand, I just throw them in).  In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.  Turn the mixer to low, and gently add the dry ingredients and mix just until blended.  Remove bowl from mixer and immediately fill muffin cups lined with paper cups, or add the desired chips by hand and then fill the muffin cups.  Bake in a 325’F oven on a rack that has been placed one level up from the bottom.  Bake for 30-35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

